The Collective Abroad: Release concert and stream/L!VE Party

Wednesday 9. February 2022 at 18:00 - 22:00

The HideOut Studio • Gøtlervej 15, 9000 Aalborg, Denmark

Online ticket sales has ended.

The Collective Abroad is an international jazz collective with members from Denmark, Czech, Germany, Spain, Netherlands and Lithuania. On February 9th, the band will release their first studio album titled “Cycle.”

“Join us for this very special evening. We are going to be celebrating diversity and international collaboration. We are going to play like on fire, share stories from our tours and talk a bit about the music. Can’t wait to see you!”

  • Jan Sedlák, The Collective Abroad

The Cycle is the second album by The Collective Abroad. Music on the album is composed by all seven members of the band.

The Collective Abroad emerged out of an international project of seven European Conservatories. In May 2019, a handful of talented students met in Hamburg (DE) to prepare for a concert at the Elbjazz Festival. In one week, they rehearsed and successfully performed their original repertoire at one of the biggest jazz festivals in Germany. What started as an annually recurring project, turned into a permanent collaboration, when members of The Collective Abroad decided to continue playing together despite the distances and borders between them.

Since its foundation in April 2019, the band performed several international tours and played at festivals such as Elbjazz (Hamburg, DE), Classical Beat (DE), Swingin' Groningen (NL), Jazzkaar (EST), Aarhus Jazz Festival (DK), Supernova Jazz Blast (Aalborg, DK) and Vinterjazz (DK).

The Collective Abroad carries out a big variety of high quality modern and contemporary improvised music, which reflects various influences from music scenes of the seven members: Hamburg, Berlin, Amsterdam, Aalborg, Vilnius and Groningen. Each of their concerts and albums features seven compositions and seven different forms of improvisation, giving the listener a broad and diverse experience.

Jaap de Vries (NL) – trumpet
Josh Schofield (GB) – alt saxophone
Tadas Pasaravičius (LT) – tenor saxophone
Tal Arditi (ISR) – guitar
Sandro Sáez (DE/ES) – piano
Jan Sedlák (CZ) – double bass
Dominic Harrison (DE) – drums

The HideOut Studio • Gøtlervej 15, 9000 Aalborg, Denmark

Google Map of Gøtlervej 15, 9000 Aalborg, Denmark

The Collective Abroad

+45 42 31 43 34