Synaesthesis (Lithuania) / Estonian Music Days & Baltic Music Days 2021

Kultuurikatel (Creative Hub) · Põhja puiestee 27a, Tallinn, Estonia

Elis Hallik – "Some Paths Will Always Lead Through the Shadows" for two violins, viola, cello, piano, flute, clarinet (2021, premiere)
Diana Čemerytė – Meine Seele wartet for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, piano (2020)
Žibuoklė Martinaitytė – Solastalgia for clarinet, piano, violin, viola, cello (2020)
Evija Skuķe – Locust. Beauty of Destruction for string quartet (2015/2017)
Beat Furrer – Spur for string quartet and piano (1998)
Régis Campo – Pop Art for violin, viola, cello, piano, flute, clarinet (2002)

Ensemble Synaesthesis consists of talented Lithuanian musicians of the younger generation with a mission to perform and introduce works by experimental and bold composers from Lithuania and other countries. This time, the ensemble presents the programme titled Baltic Sense. This is an ongoing project with changing musical content that represents the ensemble’s wish to connect to the Baltic region and explore the similarities and differences derived from our geography, history and cultural peculiarities. The title was first introduced in London in 2020 at a concert celebrating the 30th anniversary of the restoration of Lithuanian independence, with pieces by Pēteris Vasks, Arvo Pärt, Bronius Kutavičius and Ramūnas Motiekaitis. For this edition of the project, Synaesthesis is presenting a programme that focuses on the younger generation of Baltic composers – Elis Hallik, Diana Čemeryte, Žibuoklė Martinaitytė, Evija Skuke. In addition, the programme includes two composers from more distant countries who nonetheless tickle our Baltic imagination – Beat Furrer and Regis Campo. With Baltic Sense, ensemble Synaesthesis is launching a cultural dialogue to find common ground for various musical performance, production and display projects.

Dainius Peseckas – violin
Diemantė Merkevičiūtė – violin
Monika Kiknadzė – viola
Arnas Kmieliauskas – cello
Vytenis Gurstis – flute
Artūras Kažimėkas – clarinet
Marta Finkelštein – piano, artistic director
Karolis Variakojis – conductor, musical director

Buy ticket


Estonian Composers Union

Phone: +372 645 4068



Kultuurikatel (Creative Hub) · Põhja puiestee 27a, Tallinn, Estonia

Google Map of Põhja puiestee 27a, Tallinn, Estonia