Sinfonietta Rīga String Quartet (Latvia) / Estonian Music Days & Baltic Music Days 2021

Fri 23. April 2021 at 19:00 - 21:00

Estonian National Museum, Jakob Hurt Hall · Muuseumi tee 2, Tartu, Estonia

Santa Ratniece – Aragonite (2005)
Bronius Kutavičius – Anno cum tettigonia for quartet and tape (1980)
Georgs Pelēcis – Quartet – Lamento (1986)
Age Veeroos – Whisperer (2021, premiere)
Maija Einfelde – String Quartet No. 3 (2009)
Andris Dzenītis – Trataka. Point Noir (String Quartet No. 1, 2011)

Since its establishment in 2007, the membership of the Sinfonietta Rīga String Quartet has changed repeatedly. Currently, the members are Kristiāna Šīrante (first violin), Agnese Kanniņa-Liepiņa (second violin), Artūrs Gailis (viola), Kārlis Klotiņš (cello). Although the repertoire of the string quartet includes compositions from all historical periods, the ensemble is most comfortable performing modern music. Contemporary Latvian composers are essential to the quartet’s repertoire. The string quartet has collaborated with several Latvian musicians, for example with countertenor Sergejs Jēgers, percussionist Ivo Kūrskops, clarinettist Guntis Kuzma and double bass player Jānis Stafeckis. When performing compositions that require electronic sound processing, the quartet often collaborates with the artistic director of the Sinfonietta Rīga orchestra, Normunds Šnē.
The Sinfonietta Rīga String Quartet was nominated for the Latvian Great Music Award in 2007, in the category “The Debut of the Year”. The quartet performs not only in Riga, but all over Latvia.

Kristiāna Šīrante – violin
Agnese Kanniņa-Liepiņa – violin
Artūrs Gailis – viola
Kārlis Klotiņš – cello

Buy ticket


Estonian Composers Union

Phone: +372 645 4068



Estonian National Museum, Jakob Hurt Hall · Muuseumi tee 2, Tartu, Estonia

Google Map of Muuseumi tee 2, Tartu, Estonia